Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®
Zeta Omicron Omega Chapter​
Kinston, NC
Alpha Kappa Alpha History​
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was founded on January 15, 1908, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, DC. Our founders were among the fewer than 1,000 Negroes enrolled in higher education institutions in 1908, and the 25 women who received bachelor of arts degrees from Howard University between 1908 and 1911. Nine juniors and seniors constituted the founding members.
The Nine Founders were: Anna Easter Brown, Beulah Burke, Lillie Burke, Marjorie Hill, Margaret Flagg Holmes, Ethel Hedgemon (Lyle), Lavinia Norman, Lucy Diggs Slowe and Marie Woolfolk (Taylor).
To ensure the continuity of the organization, seven honor students from the Class of 1910, who previously had expressed interest, were invited to join without initiation.

Those seven, “The Sophomores,” included: Norma Boyd, Ethel Jones (Mowbray), Alice Murray, Sarah Meriweather (Nutter), Joanna Berry (Shields), Carrie Snowden and Harriet Terry.
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority through its incorporation on January 29, 1913, with Quander, Boyd and Smith as signers of the petition. It was the first Black Greek-letter organization to attempt and successfully complete such a measure. The incorporation of the sorority positioned it to broaden its service concept offerings while ensuring the preservation of its founding principles and brands.
© Copyright  2024 Zeta Omicron Omega Chapter. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is not responsible for the design nor content of this social media site. They are the sole property and responsibility of Zeta Omicron Omega Chapter who host and maintains this site.
This website is best viewed using internet Explorer.
Site last updated January 22, 2024​​

The Nine Founders
The Sophomore Seven